New Camera

After doing a lot of research and reading up on cameras, I finally took the plunge and bought myself a new camera. I felt like I was in a bit of a tough spot, because I wanted a camera that would take significantly better pictures than my current point and shoot (or iPhone, for that matter), but I also wanted something that I could actually carry around and use. DSLRs can take beautiful pictures, but they are also pretty big and heavy, so I knew that I probably wouldn’t end up using a DSLR very much. I really wanted something that I could easily throw into my purse and where the weight of the camera wouldn’t make me walk around like a hunchback.

It kind of seemed like I wanted the impossible; small and compact, but “DSLR quality” pictures. Well, it turns out Sony has invented a pretty awesome camera that pretty much meets all of my requirements. This camera was even named one of Time Magazine’s Best Inventions of 2012!

Say hello to the Sony RX100, a professional, large sensor, pocket camera.

RX100

As Time states, ” digital cameras have been getting smaller and more capable every year, but that trend took a huge leap forward in 2012 with the Sony RX100, which bridges the gap between point-and-shoots and pro-quality digital SLRs. Sony’s innovative design and 1-in. (2.5 cm) sensor allow the camera to take flawless photos even though it’s 20% slimmer than your average digital SLR—small enough to fit in your pocket.”

That pretty much sounded perfect for me. The price tag on the camera was a little more than I had originally set out to spend, but after reading almost nothing but glowing reviews for this camera, I knew that it would be worth it to spend a little more to get something I would be really, really happy with. I am definitely of the mindset that it is often worth it to spend a little more on something you are going to be super happy with for a long time, rather than cheap out and end up being disappointed and spending more money on a replacement.

DSC00064

DSC00105

I am just learning to use the camera, it is going to take some getting used to, but I’ve been really happy with the results so far. I’ve been having a lot of fun just taking pictures of everything and anything! I don’t know about you, but I think this food looks pretty delicious!

DSC00223

Happy Monday!


Comments

2 responses to “New Camera”

  1. I love the pics that it takes! I need to buy one too for better blog pics. I’m still using the cell phone and I don’t like taking pics that way. I’m still researching Consumer Reports too. Thanks for the informative post. I’ll check into that one, too.

    1. Hi, thanks for stopping by.

      Ya, this camera is pretty amazing, I’m really happy with the pictures that it takes. I recommend it!
      Happy camera shopping. 🙂

      Robyn

Leave a comment