Hawaii – The Big Island & Oahu

This past February, Byron and I went on the most magical vacation. It was wonderful for many different reasons: we got to spend time with my family, we celebrated our nephew’s 1st birthday, we had time off from work, we were in freaking Hawaii, we ate so much delicious food and most exciting of all, we got engaged!

Obviously this trip was incredibly special, so it’s been a bit of a rude shock being back in Ottawa and getting back into the swing of things. So, rather than actually adjust to real life I thought it would better to relive our vacation through blogging. Over the next couple of weeks I am going to put together some posts going through some my favourite spots we visited during out stay on The Big Island and Oahu. I’ll mostly focus on food, but will also throw in a couple of hikes and other things like that!

IMG_0372

The last couple of Hawaii trips I went on were to Maui (and I spent a couple of days on Oahu on my last trip) so it was exciting planning for The Big Island as I haven’t been there since I was really little. There was so much to explore and I feel like we just scratched the surface with this trip. Overall the food scene in Hawaii continues to become more and more impressive. We ate at a lot of great spots on The Big Island, many of which focused on using fresh, local ingredients. Honolulu continues to impress with it’s Japanese food and I would hazard a guess that they probably have some of the best Japanese food outside of Japan. Byron and I were blown away by the Japanese food we ate – and I’m not just talking about sushi – we had delicious tonkatsu, ramen and yakitori as well.

So, since the forecast says that there is supposed to be a winter storm this evening, despite the fact that it’s now April and officially Spring, I think I am going to continue to daydream about being back in Hawaii…

Aloha!


Comments

Leave a comment